28 Days Later

This week was our fourth week of being healthier eaters and also my fourth week of Jillian Michaels’ Six Week Six Pack!

Six Week Six Pack is divided into two levels, each of which have a “beginner modification” and an “advanced modification.” With level one, it took me until the third week to be able to do the advanced modifications on most of the moves (there was one move that my body just would not get advanced with, even after three weeks!).

This is the move I could not get advanced with for the life of me. I have no idea what it’s called, but it requires more balance than I have.

 

By the end of the third week, I was kind of bored with the workout because, even though it was still a very challenging workout, I pretty much had the sequence of moves memorized. I was ready for some new moves!

This week brought Level Two, and as with any Jillian Michaels advanced level workout, it is NO JOKE. There are burpees (sans the jumps in between) in the warmup… I’m used to those being part of a cardio interval! However, I felt ready for this after three weeks of Level One and I’m really happy with where I am after a week of Level Two… I am even able to do several advanced modifications already.

Even after only four of the six weeks, I am really, really happy with my results. Can’t wait to see where I am in two weeks!

As for eating…
As for the eating healthy thing, myfitnesspal continues to be my best friend, keeping me in line and keeping me from going over on calories. My biggest accomplishment this week was this:

Cutting a Burger in Half!

I know, I know. Baby steps.

I’ve heard many times that a great way to cut calories while still enjoying awesome food is to still order that yummy bacon cheeseburger that I want, but cut it in half (eating half for dinner and saving the rest to reheat). This has long been something unconscionable to me… how could I ever order an amazing burger and NOT finish it?

Well, on Wednesday night, we went with a couple of friends to check out karaoke at a local restaurant known for their burgers. While I could have ordered a lowcal option from their menu and finished the plate, I just couldn’t imagine NOT trying their signature item, so I decided to order a burger and cut it in half to test myself. I decided that if I was still hungry after half one, I would wait a few minutes and then eat the second half if I still wasn’t full.

The burgers were great, but I was happy to find that I was just as full after having half the burger and fries as I would ordinarily be after having the entire meal… a difference between 680 and 1360 calories! (The other half of the burger was just as good when I reheated it, sans fries, the next day.) I was pretty proud of myself for being able to finally use this method that so many of my friends previously lauded as “easy.”

Results:
The thing about posting weight/inch loss results is that, at some point, it’s hard not to feel like it constitutes bragging. There’s an invisible line where we all move from saying “You go, girl!” (Do we say that anymore? I guess not. We ought to.) to saying “That [redacted] needs to stop shoving her skinny [redacted] in our faces.” I’m not sure where that line is.

Anyway, I’m never going to post my actual weight on this blog, but I will post the amount I lose. So if you think that’s shoving it in your face… don’t read it. After today, I’m not going to post my clothing size on this blog, because I’m officially at the point where if I lose another size, it’s realistically going to be the last size I can lose (I am super tall and don’t want to look gaunt). But again, I am excited about my results over the past month, so if you don’t want to read them… what are you doing here?

I am happy to officially report that I have lost a total of TEN pounds in the past four weeks and I was able to fit into my old size 8 jeans this week! I am down TWO clothing sizes (at least when it comes to this particular brand of jeans) from where I was a month ago, and I feel healthier than I’ve felt in years.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 28 Days Later

  1. Rock on! I know exactly what you’re talking about, in terms of feeling like you’re throwing weight loss in other people’s faces. I lost almost twenty pounds last fall and was super proud of myself, but I always felt like I couldn’t brag about it because most people consider me “skinny” to begin with. But losing that weight was HARD and a serious effort on my part. So crow away!!!

    PS- that pose is called a side plank in yoga (sort of, it’s done with the feet locked together and the legs straight – literally a plank turned on its side). It requires a LOT of strenghth in some very small muscles around your shoulder to hold yourself up on one arm like that, so it’s less about balance and more about strengthening those. And you can really screw up your shoulder joint doing that if you aren’t careful so don’t push yourself too hard until it feels comfortable!

    • EGL says:

      Thanks, Ellen! I am glad that I’m not the only one who feels awkward about being a cheerleader for my own weight loss in public. 🙂 Thanks for your support!

  2. You go girl! (both of you!) Weight loss is hard and you should be proud of your accomplishments! Plus, this is (at least partially) a fitness blog, right? Your readers should be ok with you being proud of your earned fitness and its results… I know I am, and I look forward to hearing about the rest of your journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

