The First Week of the Rest of My Life

Last Sunday, we began our household mission to start eating right. This has been incredibly easy for Patrick and less easy for me, but I am getting the hang of it.

On Sunday, because I didn’t really know how to start, I decided to jumpstart things with a day of fruit only. I ate tons of cantaloupe, honeydew, pineapple, and grapes. It was awesome and kind of gave me a base from which to start. I considered doing the Seven Day Diet, which one of my coworkers used with great success during the school year, but I was sort of worried about the impact of not eating any protein for the first few days. So I just decided to jump into the “eating right.” Like Patrick says, this is not a diet… “this is how we eat now.”

I downloaded the MyFitnessPal app on my phone, which allows me to keep track of my calories. It’s a really easy-to-use app which allows users to log calories, track goals, and log exercises. It gave me a daily calorie goal based on my height, weight, and goals. It also allows me to scan in barcodes for the foods I consume, enter the amounts I’m eating (yes, I measure everything out), and see how the foods impact my daily goals. I would recommend it to anyone who, like me, wants to eat right but does not have a lot of experience doing so.

The only issue I find with it is that logging any physical activity screws up the calorie tracker. For instance, I told it that I mowed the lawn for 20 minutes on Wednesday and it credited me back 158 calories to eat. I don’t think that’s how it’s supposed to work, MyFitnessPal. I’m not Ryan Lochte, burning 9 million calories and needing to eat to make up for it. Workouts are not free calories to eat.

Speaking of workouts, I’ve gotten into a new Jillian Michaels DVD this month, Six Week Six Pack. This workout is MUCH more difficult than the Shred, at least for me. It took me several tries to actually make it through the Level 1 Workout without pausing for any breaks! I’m planning to do the workout 5-6 times a week (as suggested) for six weeks to see what the results are. I’m starting the “six weeks” with the first time I actually completed the DVD (which was Sunday).

My Workouts This Week:
Sunday: Six Week Six Pack
Monday:  Six Week Six Pack
Tuesday: Six Week Six Pack plus 3 mile run
Wednesday: Six Week Six Pack
Thursday: Day Off 😦 I worked the retail job all day and then my parents came in town that  evening, so I didn’t make the time.
Friday: Six Week Six Pack plus Crunch Cardio Dance (sidenote: I do not recommend Crunch Cardio Dance. Not challenging.)
Saturday: Six Week Six Pack

Results of Week One of the Non-Diet:
I lost half an inch off my waist and seven pounds.

So, if you didn’t believe how badly I was eating before,  that’s almost 4% of my weight lost after one week of eating a sensible 1450-1500 calories a day with no real changes to my workout plan. That’s insane. Why haven’t I always done this?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

