A Balanced WHAT?

I’m back! For the past several months my feelings about blogging have been as follows:
1. I have way too much to do. I do not have time to blog.
2. I actually have time to blog, but would rather sleep/read.
3. I actually have time to blog, but as I sit down to write I feel that what I’m writing is really unnecessary and no one will actually care about reading it (so I delete it).

The quick “what have I been up to” update: Since my last post, I had a very busy spring semester, filled with grading, directing, choreographing, and buying a house. Now that we’ve been on summer break for over a month, the house looks vaguely like people live in it, though there is still much to be done! Moving is a process, so I am happy that we won’t be moving again for a long while.

Anyway, onto the actual post now:

Our household has embarked on the adventure of eating a balanced diet. This is very new to me, and I’ll tell you why:

I eat TERRIBLY. I mean, it is AWFUL. Especially when my wonderful cook of a husband is not home to cook me dinner. Sample things I eat for dinner when he is not home:
– An ENTIRE box of Velveeta Mac n Cheese
– HALF a Digiorno pizza
– You get the idea.

This is vastly superior to the things I would make for dinner in college, which included meals like hot dogs wrapped in Pillsbury biscuits (with cheese inside, of course). Judge all you want, because these are AMAZING.

I found this photo on a website for creative recipes for kids. Or college students, I guess.

Anyway,  I love terrible, fatty, sugary, awesome foods. I also only started eating breakfast regularly last year. In 2007/08, I lost two clothing sizes just by starting running again, and last summer I lost another clothing size by increasing my workouts. The only times I have dieted have been for specific events or to fit into certain dresses, not for longterm weight loss.

As I approach my very first 29th birthday this summer (I intend to celebrate 29 for several years), I’ve started wondering how much thinner I’d be if I just didn’t eat so darn much stuff that’s awful for me. I’m happy with the size/weight that I am, but I guess I’m just curious to see what size/weight I’d be if I actually did something about my diet.

I mentioned this to Patrick, who of course was very excited to start eating right again. I ruined his diet when we started dating, as he had a two-protein-shakes-and-a-sensible-dinner type diet and I had a decidedly more awesome hot-dogs-in-biscuits type diet. I mean, who can have a protein shake for lunch when his significant other wants to have a 920 calorie bacon cheeseburger from Five Guys? After almost eight years together he was beginning to grow tired of the cholesterol and calorie laden meals I adore so much, so he jumped at the chance to show me how to eat healthy. It’s weird to think that we aren’t dieting, but changing our lifestyle permanently.

Yesterday, I was shocked by how full I was. I probably had 500+ less calories than usual, but I was full before I could even finish my dinner. My body is so quickly growing used to eating the food it needs and gaining nourishment from the “right” foods… it’s amazing to me how quickly I’m adjusting! Now I just need to learn how to pick foods to eat without Patrick there to help. I anticipate eating at restaurants being incredibly difficult for me.

Goodbye, old friends.

This “eating right” thing is going to take a lot of work, but I am eager to learn how to do it (and not in the memorize-the-food-pyramid kind of way, but in the actual eat-right-without-thinking-about-it kind of way). I have lots of questions and he has lots of answers, since he is just getting back into the swing of things (whereas the last time I ate a balanced diet was in high school, with my mom doing all the cooking). He is basically my at-home “eat this, not that” consultant. This leads to me asking a lot for stupid questions and feeling bewildered by basic things like seasoning chicken. I always feel like I have to apologize for asking silly things, but he always responds the same way:

“We’ll get where we need to be. Don’t worry.”

I’m excited to get there.

**At some point I will be old and/or in a wheelchair (not the latter before the former, I hope). When I get THERE, I fully intend to eat Velveeta mac n cheese for every single meal, because I truly will not care anymore. But until then, my body deserves better treatment than I’ve been giving it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Balanced WHAT?

  1. So glad you’re back! 🙂

    Good luck creating a new relationship with food!

  2. Pingback: Six Week Six Pack Results! | In Just No Time At All

Leave a Reply

