30 Day Shred Results!

Today was Day 30 of my experiment  with Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred.  After a pleasant 5 mile run, I did my final Level 3 workout today!

When I started the Shred, it was more because I was curious than anything else.  So, I am sure you are all wondering how it turned out, right?  Well, I’ll tell you… in Q&A format.

What did you expect from the 30 Day Shred? I expected to get a little more toned, maybe lose a couple of pounds.

How often did you do the 30 Day Shred  workouts? Almost every day.  I skipped 3 days over the course of 30 days.  5-6 days a week is the recommendation, but the more you do it the better your results.

Did you diet along with the workouts?  No.  It’s also worth noting that I am on a medication (Avonex) which is known to cause weight gain, which I started the same week that I started the Shred.  I don’t know if I would have lost more weight/inches had I dieted or had I not been on the meds, but both are worth noting.  I also don’t know how much the running I did in addition to the Shred might have impacted my results.

So… get to it!  What were your results? I should start by saying that I didn’t take measurements, photos, or even weigh myself on day one.  I did weigh myself and measure a few areas on day 2, though.

How much weight did you lose? 6 pounds.

How many inches did you lose? 3 inches off my chest/back, 2 inches off my waist, 2.5 inches off my hips, 2 inches off each thigh.  My clothes fit better, and I’ve had to dry some of them on high to attempt to shrink them.

What is the biggest visible difference? When I stand with my legs hip-width apart, my thighs no longer touch at all.  (I am willing to bet that at least a few of you who are reading this will now stand up with your legs hip-width apart to see whether they touch.)

To whom would you recommend the 30 Day Shred? I would recommend the DVD to anyone who is looking for a good way to jump-start a workout regimen that includes strength training, cardio, and ab work.  

Who would you advise to stay away from the 30 Day Shred?  People with bad knees would probably have to do too many modifications to enjoy the workout.  I would also advise you to stay away from it if you hate sweat and working hard.

Was it worth it?  Absolutely.  For the minimal time commitment of 26 minutes a day, I definitely got the results I expected (and then some!).

Next month, I’ll be checking out:

Got any more questions about the Shred or my experience with it? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 30 Day Shred Results!

  1. Laura says:

    *sigh* I second and third the knee thing. If you’re a person whose knees are finnicky definitely do extra warm ups and, for the love of cheese, don’t let ego keep you from modifying the exercises if you have to. Losing the ability to walk up stairs sans stabbing pain behind the patella is, um, not fun.

    Honestly, the best thing I got out of 30DS was a variety strength training exercises that I can do at the gym after my regular, blessedly low impact, cardio routine. Is this as effective as the 3-2-1 system? Depends. I doubt someone looking to lose weight will see the same results, but a person hoping to build muscle will probably enjoy at least a few satisfying changes.

    • EGL says:

      Yeah, I think a person looking to lose major pounds would definitely have to diet along with the workout. But for our purposes, I think it was a worthwhile endeavor.

      • Laura says:

        Indeed. I’m not weighing myself, but I do note that I’ve developed noticeable ab definition and am able to lift heavy things now.

        Am presently debating whether to try it again in a more disciplined/scientific way, or to move on.

  2. Holy wow sister! I’m so proud of you for finishing the Shred. I’ve started it several times but never made it past five or six days without stopping (just couldn’t get into a routine).

    Another Jillian work out that I’ve enjoyed is her Kettlebell workout. It beat me up. I ordered a 15lb kettlebell online (also available at Target) and used “On Demand” to get the workout. I should totally get back to that — it’s a total body work out and really hits your legs hard.

    Can’t wait to follow you as you do Ripped in 30. Also, cannot wait to see how toned and awesome you look in August. (I’ll be down after pre-planning has started, but I’d love to see you even if for five minutes!)

    • EGL says:

      I’ve heard that it takes 21 days to make a habit but only 2 days to break one. I think refusing to take more than one day off in a row helped me stay on track. I don’t think I’ll be posting about Ripped in 30 as much as I did the Shred, but I’ll definitely review the DVD for everyone!

      See you in August!

  3. Pingback: Six Week Six Pack Results! | In Just No Time At All

  4. xxlfire says:

    Gj! supportisgreat 🙂

Leave a Reply

