Breakfast

This is going to seem totally ridiculous, but I started eating breakfast a couple of weeks ago and I feel completely different.

I know what you’re thinking:  You weren’t eating breakfast?  Seriously?  At all?  Well, not exactly.  I always ate something in the morning (almost always), but it wasn’t exactly “breakfast.”  Rushing out the door, I’d grab something unhealthy like a pop tart or something healthy but really small like a banana.  By lunchtime, I’d be ravenous, which meant that whatever I brought for lunch (usually a Lean Cuisine or something similar) wasn’t enough to satisfy me.  In the end, this all resulted in exhaustion by the end of my day at work.  My day usually went like this:  work, rehearsal, nap or extremely lackluster workout, dinner, sleep.

I started eating Real Breakfast on May 1 because I had to eat an actual meal each morning while on the steroids that were prescribed for my optic neuritis flare up.  While on the steroids, I got in the habit of starting my morning with either eggs or cereal (I love Red Berries Special K).  I even learned to make an omelette, something I have never had to do because my Mom made them for me when I was a kid and my husband makes them for me as an adult!

Getting up just 10 minutes earlier each day to have a true Breakfast means that I feel more relaxed leaving the house, less like I could eat a cow at lunch, less tired after work, and just better in general.  I’ve been able to run 60 miles in the month of May (so far) and I get home from work every day excited to work out (rather than exhausted and cursing the gym).  I’m running faster than I did before, and I’m less tired after my workouts.

My steroid cycle for the optic neuritis ended last Wednesday, but I have continued getting up earlier each day to have breakfast, and I continue to feel more energetic than I did before!

What are some healthy, filling breakfast foods that you enjoy?

Other News:  I will be starting medication, Avonex, in a couple of weeks.  I am a little nervous about it as I am aware that it may result in flu-like symptoms as side effects.  But I know that the side effects will be worth the impact that it could have on the number of flare ups I will have in the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Breakfast

  1. Daniel Wagener says:

    Some heatlthy, filling breakfast foods that I enjoy:

    1) Whole wheat bagel, peanut butter on one half, cottage cheese on the other
    “What? Cottage cheese on a bagel?” Yeah, it’s a tad messy, but delicious and healthier than cream cheese.
    2) Oatmeal
    I do my oatmeal Jujimufu-style: http://www.trickstutorials.com/content/jtoinekitch
    So, a typical oatmeal bowl for me might have protein powder, banana, almonds, and Honey Bunches of Oats. You can do a lot with oatmeal; give it a shot!
    3) KICKASS PROTEIN PANCAKES
    I just sent this recipe to my friend, so now I’m giving it to you. These take a bit of effort to make, but are well worth it.

    1/2 cup of oatmeal
    1/2 cup of cottage cheese
    5 egg whites (or, if you want to conserve eggs, 2 whole eggs and one white)
    1 tsp vanilla extract
    2 packets of artificial sweetener or sugar
    As much powdered cinnamon as you want

    Blend all ingredients in a blender and cook like you would with any other pancake batter. Suggested toppings include peanut butter, fruit, and nuts. I like to roll mine up and eat them like burritos.

    Happy Breakfasting!

  2. Laura says:

    Oatmeal! And not the kind from a package, either. The real stuff. It takes about ten minutes to heat half a cup of rolled oats in a cup of water, and the result tastes so much better than anything that comes out of a microwave. Add about 1/2 a cup of skim milk, a dash of agave and some raisins and you’ve got a tasty, filling breakfast that will keep you satisfied for at least the next five hours. (Yes, I’ve timed it. My other go-to breakfast of whole-wheat cheerios and blueberries had me ravenous by lunch so I did a semi-scientific comparison of energy and hunger levels over time for a week or so.)

  3. Dana Martin says:

    Greek yogurt topped with walnuts, frozen organic blueberries, tiny drizzle of agave nectar.

    Nature’s Path organic instant oatmeal (many flavors, look at Whole Foods). Topped with a banana and some or all of the above.

    Both of these are ready in a flash and will hold you over for a good while 🙂

  4. Pingback: A Balanced WHAT? | In Just No Time At All

  5. youtube.com says:

    I think the admin of this web site is really working hard for
    his web site, because here every information is quality based information.

  6. A person necessarily assist to make critically articles I would state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your website page and up to now?
    I amazed with the research you made to create this actual
    publish extraordinary. Magnificent activity!

Leave a Reply

